Conference Venue
About Bratislava
Social Programme
Invited Speakers
Crookes Prize
Prizes and Grants

Final Announcement, ESCAMPIG 2016
Programme Booklet
Poster Session I
Poster Session II
Poster Session III
Prizes and Grants
The William Crookes Prize (2016)
EPS Individual Member Travel Grant
EPS Poster Prize
EPS Young Researcher Grants

The William Crookes Prize (ESCAMPIG XXIII, 2016)

We are pleased to announce that the William Crookes Prize 2016 has been awarded to Vasco Guerra (Portugal) for his major contributions on the scientific topics covered by the ESCAMPIG, in particular, for the outstanding contribution to the modeling of molecular low-temperature plasmas, such as the self-consistent kinetic modeling of N2, O2, N2-O2, and Ar-O2 plasmas under discharge and post-discharge conditions including the strong coupling between electron and vibrational kinetics, together with chemical and ion kinetics.

Crookes Prize Lecture

Vasco Guerra (Portugal)

"Modeling of N2-O2-Ar-plasmas - volume and surface kinetics"

The prize is co-sponsored by the European Physical Society (EPS) and Institute of Physics Publishing through Plasma Sources Science and Technology (PSST).

Former winners:
  1. Pascal Chabert (Greifswald 2014), for his major contributions on the modeling of capacitively and inductively coupled plasmas.
  2. Antoine Rousseau (Viana do Castelo 2012, for his major contributions on the coupling plasma-catalysis and its application to air treatment.
  3. Zoltan Donko (Novi Sad 2010): for his major contributions to the understanding of the effect of elementary processes on the properties of gas discharges and strongly coupled plasmas.
  4. Richard van de Sanden (Granada 2008): for his major contributions to fundamental studies of expanding plasma jets and their use in plasma enhanced deposition and etching.